PhD Awards 2020

Posted on: 18/06/2020

In 2020, BiR&D granted 4 awards to PhD’s that thanks to their outstanding work were selected among 30 applications.
Next to their excellent scientific level, the main criteria included a strong multidisciplinary character and a high potential for industrialisation.

Science and technology

Seppe Terryn (VUB): Investigation of self-healing actuators for robotics

Louis Couto (ULB): Electrochemical Modelling, Supervision and Control of Lithium-Ion Batteries

Life sciences:

Rein Verbeke (Ghent University): Design of messenger RNA lipid nanoparticles for cancer immunotherapy

Tomasz Uchanski (VUB): MegaBodies as next generation tools in Structural Biology